Not so alone after all

Posted: April 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

gendermom

Over this past weekend, I attended my first conference about this whole “transgender thing,” the Gender Odyssey conference  in Seattle.  It’s an annual gathering for transgender and other gender-nonconforming folks, the professionals who work with them, and those who love them.  As the mother of a young “trans girl,” I fall solidly and vehemently into the last category. 

How was it, you ask?

The short answer:  Informative, validating, terrifying, inspiring. It was a homecoming to a family I didn’t know existed for a mom like me with a child like mine.   

It was also exhausting.  At 8:30 a.m. on a Friday morning, I find myself riding up the escalator to the top floor of the Washington State Convention Center, bleary-eyed and hoping they have strong coffee at this thing.  There’s a young family several steps above me, with two little girls – about 6 and 9 years old, I…

View original post 1,962 more words

Leave a Reply

